Threema GmbH

Terms of Service

Threema Gateway

In the event of discrepancies between the German and English version of these Terms of Service, the German version shall prevail.

I.  Subject of this Agreement

  1. “Threema Gateway” is an interface to send encrypted direct messages to users of the Threema Messaging Service and the Threema app.
  2. Threema GmbH (Provider) provides this interface to users for remuneration.

II. Scope

  1. These Terms of Service govern the contractual relationship between Threema GmbH, as the Provider of the “Threema Gateway” service (Service), and the users of the service (Users).
  2. These Terms of Service apply to all rights and obligations of the contractual parties in the framework of using the Service.
  3. Different agreements on specific provisions shall be invalid unless agreed upon in writing.

III. Provider's Services

  1. The Provider shall deliver their Service according to the current state of the art.
  2. In particular, the Provider shall endeavor to deliver all messages interfaced through him to the Threema Messaging Service without delay.
  3. The Provider supplies the User sample source code for the use of the interface free of charge. The User shall bear all costs related to integrating code into his system environment. The Provider accepts no liability for the compatibility of the example code with data, programs, configurations, etc. implemented by the User.
  4. Two different interface modes are available to the User, which differ in the type of encryption used:
    1. In “Basic Mode”, the User sends unencrypted messages to the Provider. Messages are encrypted by the Provider and forwarded to the recipient. The creation and management of the private key for the customer-specific Threema ID lies with the Provider.
    2. In the “End-to-End Mode”, the User encrypts direct messages in its own system environment. These messages remain unchanged by the Provider and are forwarded to the recipient. The Provider has no means to decrypt the content of the messages sent. The creation and management of the private key lies with the User; he shall only notify the Provider of the public key.
  5. The delivery of direct messages on mobile devices may be delayed or prevented by circumstances that are beyond the control of the Provider. These include (but are not limited to): no reception, no connection to the Internet or Threema Messaging Service, Internet interferences of any kind, hardware or software failures of reception and network devices.
  6. Any liability with limited usability of the Service, in particular through the circumstances listed in para. 5, is expressly excluded by the Provider.

IV. Use of the Subject of this Agreement

  1. The User may only use the subject of this Agreement as directed and according to the behaviors permitted by Swiss law. Use for any purpose that is capable of damaging the moral sense of the receiver is explicitly excluded.
  2. The transmission of messages for marketing and promotional purposes and of newsletters, unless the recipient has expressly requested to receive such messages and this expression of will is subsequently confirmed (double opt-in), is fundamentally prohibited. The User shall supply the Provider with relevant proof within 5 days following the request of such information.
  3. The Service is primarily intended for sending messages. If the number of messages received exceeds the number of messages sent by a factor of 10 (ten), the Provider may charge additional fees.
  4. The User shall indemnify the Provider against any third party claims that are made due to violation of the rights of the third party on the part of the User or due to culpable legal infringements or breaches of contract on the part of the User against the Provider.

V. Threema ID

  1. The customer-specific Threema ID required for use of the Service is composed of 7 (seven) alphanumeric characters, which are preceded by a star, and may be selected by the User, subject to availability.
  2. The User is obliged to ensure that the selected Threema ID neither damages the trademark rights of any third party, nor is capable of violating public morals. The Provider reserves the right to reject applications for certain Threema IDs without notice.
  3. The User is required to store the private key securely. In case of loss of the private key, the associated Threema ID is irretrievably lost. A key change is not possible.

VI. Account

  1. The User receives a user account consisting of username / email address and a password chosen by the User.
  2. The User shall handle the login information with the necessary care. He is fully liable for any direct or indirect damage caused by misuse of the account by third parties and/or by negligently handling the login information.
  3. The Provider reserves the right to temporarily or permanently terminate the account if misuse pursuant to Article IV is present and/or where the use of the account opposes applicable law and/or if reasonable suspicion of misuse of the account on the part of third parties exists.

VII. Remuneration

  1. The sending of messages, the reservation of a custom Threema ID and the predominant use for purposes of receiving messages pursuant to Article IV, point 3 is subject to charge.
  2. The payment of user fees is to be made in advance.
  3. The current table of applicable fees may be found on the “Threema Gateway” homepage. The Provider reserves the right to adjust said fees and/or tariff levels at any time as per any changing conditions.

VIII. Termination

  1. Either party may terminate the Agreement at any time.
  2. Should the Provider terminate the Agreement, the User may request monetary reimbursement of any remaining credits for a fee.

IX. Data Protection

  1. Personal information that is collected through the use of the Service is subject to the provisions of the Swiss Federal Act on Data Protection (FADP).
  2. The Provider shall process the data in accordance with the relevant legislation. Messages are exclusively stored as encrypted and deleted immediately after delivery.
  3. The User obliges to fully comply with the legal provisions related to the handling of personal data.

X. Final Provisions

  1. The Provider may optionally modify these Terms of Service. The User shall be informed of any changes to the “Threema Gateway” homepage. Should the User not terminate the Agreement, the amended Terms of Service shall be considered accepted on the part of the User after a period of 30 days.
  2. If one or more provisions of these Terms of Service is invalid, the validity of the entire Agreement shall not be affected. The invalid provision shall be replaced by the relevant statutory provision.

Place of jurisdiction shall be the competent court at the seat of the Provider.

Threema GmbH

Nutzungsbedingungen

Threema Gateway

I. Vertragsgegenstand

  1. «Threema Gateway» ist eine Schnittstelle zum Versand verschlüsselter Direktnachrichten an Nutzer des Threema-Nachrichtendienstes bzw. der Threema-App.
  2. Die Threema GmbH (Anbieter) stellt diese Schnittstelle gegen Entgelt Nutzern zur Verfügung

II. Geltungsbereich

  1. Diese Nutzungsbedingungen regeln das Vertragsverhältnis zwischen Threema GmbH als Anbieter des Dienstes «Threema Gateway» (Dienst) und dem Nutzer des Dienstes (Nutzer).
  2. Diese Nutzungsbedingungen gelten für sämtliche Rechte und Pflichten der Vertragspartner im Rahmen der Nutzung des Dienstes.
  3. Abweichende Vereinbarungen zu einzelnen Bestimmungen bedürfen zu ihrer Gültigkeit der Schriftform.

III. Leistungen des Anbieters

  1. Der Anbieter erbringt die Leistungen im Rahmen des Dienstes nach aktuellem Stand der Technik.
  2. Insbesondere ist der Anbieter bemüht, alle ihm über die Schnittstelle übergebenen Nachrichten ohne Verzögerung zur Auslieferung an den Threema-Nachrichtendienst weiterzuleiten.
  3. Der Anbieter stellt dem Nutzer unentgeltlich Beispiel-Quellcode zur Nutzung der Schnittstelle zur Verfügung. Die Kosten für eine Integration in seine Systemumgebung trägt der Nutzer. Der Anbieter kann keine Haftung für die Kompatibilität der Codebeispiele mit Daten, Programmen, Konfigurationen etc. des Nutzers übernehmen.
  4. Dem Nutzer stehen zwei verschiedene Schnittstellenmodi zur Verfügung, die sich durch die Art der Verschlüsselung unterscheiden:
    1. Im «Basic Mode» sendet der Nutzer unverschlüsselte Nachrichten an den Anbieter. Die Nachrichten werden durch den Anbieter verschlüsselt und an den Empfänger weitergeleitet. Die Erzeugung und Verwaltung des privaten Schlüssels für die kundenspezifische Threema-ID obliegt dem Anbieter.
    2. Im «End-to-End Mode» verschlüsselt der Nutzer die Direktnachrichten auf seiner eigenen Systemumgebung. Die Nachrichten werden durch den Anbieter unverändert an den Empfänger weitergeleitet. Der Anbieter hat keine Möglichkeit, den Inhalt der versendeten Nachrichten zu entschlüsseln. Die Erzeugung und Verwaltung des privaten Schlüssels obliegt dem Nutzer; er teilt dem Anbieter nur den öffentlichen Schlüssel mit. 
  5. Die Zustellung der Direktnachrichten auf Mobilgeräten kann durch Umstände verzögert oder verunmöglicht werden, die sich ausserhalb der Kontrolle des Anbieters befinden. Dazu zählen (nicht abschliessende Aufzählung): Kein Empfang, keine Verbindung zum Internet oder zum Threema-Nachrichtendienst, Internet-Störungen jedweder Art, Hard- und Softwarefehler von Empfangs- und Netzwerkgeräten.
  6. Jegliche Haftung bei eingeschränkter Nutzbarkeit des Dienstes, insbesondere durch in Ziff. 5 genannte Gründe, wird durch den Anbieter ausdrücklich wegbedungen.

IV. Nutzung des Vertragsgegenstandes

  1. Der Nutzer darf den Vertragsgegenstand ausschliesslich bestimmungsgemäss und zu gemäss schweizerischer Gesetzgebung erlaubten Verhaltensweisen nutzen. Die Nutzung zu Zwecken, die dazu geeignet sind, das sittliche Empfinden der Empfänger zu verletzen, ist explizit ausgeschlossen.
  2. Grundsätzlich untersagt ist die Übermittlung von Nachrichten zu Marketing- und Werbezwecken und von Newslettern, es sei denn der Empfänger hat sich ausdrücklich für den Erhalt dieser Nachrichten angemeldet und diese Willensäusserung nachträglich bekräftigt (double opt-in). Der Nutzer hat dem Anbieter die entsprechenden Nachweise auf Anfrage innert 5 Tagen beizubringen.
  3. Der Dienst ist primär für den Versand von Nachrichten vorgesehen. Falls die Anzahl empfangener Nachrichten die Anzahl gesendeter Nachrichten um den Faktor 10 (Zehn) übersteigt, kann der Anbieter zusätzliche Gebühren erheben.
  4. Der Nutzer hält den Anbieter von etwaigen Ansprüchen Dritter schadlos, die wegen schuldhafter Verletzung von Rechten Dritter durch den Nutzer oder wegen schuldhaften gesetz- oder vertragswidrigen Verhaltens des Nutzers gegen den Anbieter geltend gemacht werden.

V. Threema-ID

  1. Die zur Nutzung des Dienstes benötigte kundenspezifische Threema-ID, bestehend aus 7 (sieben) alphanumerischen Zeichen mit vorangestelltem Stern, kann vom Nutzer im Rahmen der Verfügbarkeit frei gewählt werden.
  2. Der Nutzer verpflichtet sich, dafür zu sorgen, dass die gewählte Threema-ID weder die Markenrechte Dritter verletzt, noch dazu geeignet sein kann, gegen die guten Sitten zu verstossen. Der Anbieter behält sich vor, Anträge auf bestimmte Threema-IDs ohne Begründung abzulehnen.
  3. Der Nutzer ist angehalten, den privaten Schlüssel sicher aufzubewahren. Bei Verlust des privaten Schlüssels ist die dazugehörige Threema-ID unwiederbringlich verloren. Ein Schlüsselwechsel ist nicht möglich.

VI. Konto

  1. Der Nutzer erhält ein Nutzerkonto, bestehend aus Nutzername/E-Mail-Adresse und einem durch den Nutzer gewählten Passwort.
  2. Der Nutzer behandelt die Zugangsdaten mit der nötigen Sorgfalt. Er haftet vollumfänglich für direkte oder indirekte Schäden, die durch einen Missbrauch des Kontos durch Dritte und/oder durch einen fahrlässigen Umgang mit den Zugangsdaten entstehen.
  3. Der Anbieter behält sich das Recht vor, das Konto temporär oder dauerhaft zu sperren, wenn eine missbräuchliche Nutzung gemäss Art. IV. vorliegt und/oder die Nutzung gegen geltendes Recht verstösst und/oder der begründete Verdacht eines Missbrauchs des Kontos durch Dritte besteht.

VII. Entgelt

  1. Der Versand der Nachrichten, die Reservierung einer kundenspezifischen Threema-ID sowie die überwiegende Nutzung zu Empfangszwecken i.S. Art. IV Ziff. 3 sind gebührenpflichtig.
  2. Die Bezahlung der Nutzungsgebühren erfolgt im Voraus.
  3. Die aktuell gültige Gebührentabelle kann jeweils der Homepage von «Threema Gateway» entnommen werden. Der Anbieter behält sich vor, die Gebühren und/oder Tarifstufen jederzeit veränderten Bedingungen anzupassen.

VIII Kündigung

  1. Beide Parteien können das Vertragsverhältnis jederzeit beenden.
  2. Erfolgt die Kündigung durch den Anbieter, kann der Nutzer die Rückzahlung allfälliger Guthaben gegen Gebühr verlangen.

IX. Datenschutz

  1. Personenbezogene Daten, die im Rahmen der Nutzung des Dienstes erhoben werden, unterliegen den Bestimmungen des Schweizerischen Bundesgesetzes über den Datenschutz (DSG)
  2. Der Anbieter verarbeitet die Daten in Übereinstimmung mit der relevanten Gesetzgebung. Nachrichten werden ausschliesslich verschlüsselt zwischengespeichert und nach erfolgter Auslieferung umgehend gelöscht.
  3. Der Nutzer verpflichtet sich seinerseits, die gesetzlichen Bestimmungen in Bezug auf den Umgang mit personenbezogenen Daten vollumfänglich einzuhalten.

X. Schlussbestimmungen

  1. Der Anbieter kann diese Nutzungsbedingungen gegebenenfalls ändern. Der Nutzer wird über allfällige Änderungen auf der Homepage des «Threema Gateway» informiert. Sofern keine Kündigung von Seiten des Nutzers erfolgt, gelten die geänderten Nutzungsbedingungen nach einer Frist von 30 Tagen als akzeptiert.
  2. Sollten eine oder mehrere Regelungen dieser Geschäftsbedingungen unwirksam sein, so zieht dies nicht die Unwirksamkeit des gesamten Vertrages nach sich. Die unwirksame Regelung wird durch die einschlägige gesetzliche Regelung ersetzt.

 

Gerichtsstand ist das zuständige Gericht am Sitz des Anbieters.